NEW YORK IMPORT: PART 1

Introducing my Menswear Contributor Ebi Kagbala for The Style Prescription.  Artist and fashion stylist Ebi will be updating what is current in street fashion culture and menswear in New York.

Here he shares his transatlantic style story.

ebi in breton stripesEbi moved to Manhattan NYC in 2010 September after living 11 years in the UK. He has worked as a Stylist for Rag & Bone and Club Monaco.

How would you describe your style?

My personal style can only be described as mod/ Afro centric Dapper. Music informs my style. I love subcultures and the role fashion plays in transforming ones personal style.

What inspires you?

I’m mainly inspired by a fusion of Afro Juju music of Fela, King Robert Ebizimor and Shina Peters, which my parents played a lot around the house growing up.

Who are your style icons?

I like to dress like my heroes and put a little spin on it. From Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, Don Cherry to Melvin Van Peebles and John Coltrane. All these cats exuded great personal style they created a visual narrative. A template for us to follow through to build on.

One is of Nigerian descent (the delta state) from the south. I’m a naija boy from the Ijaw tribe (pronounced eejaw).  I was born in Castlebar Ireland and lived my teenage years in Grenada, Montserrat, St. Vincent & the Grenadine. All these experiences highly influence my personal view and style.

Ebi’s work can be viewed on www.facebook.com/ebikagbalaartwork

A dandy aesthetic
 panama hat
2 thoughts on “NEW YORK IMPORT: PART 1

Leave a Reply

